Skip to main content

Option to not save Autostack finished stacks and not maintain a persistent Library

Currently, the options are to save finished stacks “Into one Autostack results folder”, or “In the same folder as the stack’s source frames”.

I would like an option to not save them at all, unless they are explicitly saved via the editor. I often shoot multiple stacks of the same subject and only edit and save the best one(s). The ones I culled are wasted space at best and a source of confusion at worst.

I guess my preference is not to maintain a persistent “Library” at all. I understand this depends heavily on wether the finished stacks are going on to Lightroom (or other), or if Macro Studio is the final destination.

Perhaps if the user has indicated that the outputs are destined for editing in another editor with its own library (such as Adobe CC via Lightroom), then instead of a persistent “Library”, the list of outputs from autostack or loaded files can just be an output list based on temp files that disappear when the program is stopped.

This is how I currently use that other (H) program. Thanks for considering.

Status: Planned6 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments6

  • Ryan Cush

    Team•

    Nov 8

    •

    Merged request

    •

    2 votes

    Autostack option to put resulting files in the Editor

    Some users may not want Autostack files to be saved to disk in the Library, but want them to run in the Editor, where they are not automatically saved and where they’re ready to be worked on as each one finishes. Make this an option in the Autostack window.

    • Claus Giloi

      •

      Aug 17

      This mirrors exactly how I begin by shooting and stacking multiple field stacks and selecting the best outcomes, typically 20%. I treat the initial output list as a proof sheet of sorts and would rather not save any obvious failures. Thanks!

  • Ryan Cush

    Team•

    Oct 15

    Hi @Claus Giloi - I’m definitely open to considering this. Are you thinking you’d want the Autostack results to just stay in memory and show up in the Editor, where you can choose to either save or close/delete each one individually? There is another feature request logged for something similar I believe.

  • Claus Giloi

    •

    Oct 13

    Perhaps the behavior could be tied to the already existing option to create “MS DNG” vs. “Raw DNG”