StackCheck - delete unused images
That StackCheck is outstanding, Ryan - you outdid yourself.
An additional request: once the restacked shot is done - would it be possible to add a button to the banner: “like this version better - press this button to delete the unneeded images from your computer”
Log in to comment and vote
Comments7
Simon Corston-Oliver
Oct 3
I came here just to ask for this. In the field I deliberately set my initial focus a little in front of where I actually want - partly to ensure some in-focus context just in front of the subject but also coz of my aging eyesight. And the same behind the subject. But then I can easily end up with a dozen images (~0.5GB) unused per stack.
Personally I would want to delete those buffer shots and keep the intermediate problematic/unused shots but shunting everything into a folder would be a big help for file management!
Simon Corston-Oliver
Oct 3
oh I and I meant to say: I looooove this beta feature!
Ryan Cush
Aug 30
@Wolf Amri Great suggestion. I might also include an option to “move rejected images into a subfolder” which keeps them, but puts them into a “StackCheck rejects” subfolder, so that it’s not so destructive. Would you use that version, or would you really prefer the delete option?
[email protected]
Aug 31
I think my first instinct would be to move the rejected images into a subfolder, just in case I wanted to look at them again. But if they really aren't contributing anything useful to the stack, I don't think I would normally need to keep them. Having the option to move them rather than permanently delete them would probably be the safer choice for me.
[email protected]
Aug 31
Just one other thought — if there were a lot of stacks, I wonder if having one general “StackCheck rejects” folder could get a bit jumbled. It might be useful if Macro Studio could create a “StackCheck rejects” subfolder inside the folder for each individual stack, so the rejected frames always stay with the stack they came from.
Ryan Cush
Aug 31
Yes, that’s what I was thinking as well. It would put them into a subfolder of the current stack.
Wolf Amri
Sep 12
I personally would prefer the delete option, as I have become really strict on deleting files that don’t live up to certain standards (or let’s better say - I’d love to be strict, because sometimes I’m too lazy, or think - oh I could use these later - even though I NEVER do 😂). Typing that I realize that it might be a frightening idea for some 😂.